Baring It All

Posted: July 24, 2014 in Body Image
Tags: ,

Ok, so not exactly.

I did something unusual yesterday, I shared this photo online:

shirtlesThat’s me with no shirt on. I was getting dressed to workout, and looked in the mirror and liked how I looked and snapped a photo.

Of course I usually find that I don’t like how I look in photos as much as what I see in the mirror in real life. And photos make me so much more attentive to every little detail and flaw. And of course photos add their own flaws not present in real life too- like the weird dotting pattern across my skin (and everything else) in this photo.

But in an effort to accept myself as is, and not be ashamed of my body I decided to put all that aside and not look for flaws here, instead I summoned some courage and shared this on a social networking website. And now I’m sharing it here too. And then I will share it some more after this.

And so far the responses have been positive, and also limited. Because of course toΒ me this is groundbreaking. This is a huge fucking deal. That’s my abdomen… visible… straight on… no flattering angles… no fabric… just my fat stomach… for everyone and anyone to see. But to anyone else, just another mirror selfie. Not a big deal. It’s funny how we make so much more of these things in our minds than they really are in reality, in practice.

See, even though I do love my curves, my stomach has always been the part of my body I’m least comfortable with, and most afraid of anyone seeing. even moreso as I’ve gained weight and gained stretch marks on it.

But I’m working hard to recondition that thinking. Working to like what I see in the mirror and in pictures. Working to not feel like I have to hide any part of myself. I’m fat. I have a fat stomach. And I still like how I looked standing there in my sports bra and yoga pants. So there!

 

Comments
  1. I appreciate you sharing the image both for your own personal growth, and for the fact that we need more body diversity – and the internet is starting to really step up and be a place where people can find it. πŸ™‚

  2. Jay Unwin says:

    Amazing stuff, you truly are an inspiration πŸ™‚ I’d very much value your thoughts on my most recent post ‘How To Get A Bikini Body…’ πŸ™‚ I think you’d like it, it’s not what you’d assume from the title by the way 😜 keep up the great work!

  3. Tessa Racked says:

    I can empathize with feeling hesitant to share photos online, and that ongoing process of liking what I see in the mirror. I’m glad that you’ve been getting mostly positive comments (and well deserved, you look great!), and kudos to you for your self-confidence!

Leave a Reply

