I’ve been wanting to write this post for a long time.

Awhile back I heard someone say something about the importance of being consistent but not perfectly consistent.

I don’t know what exactly was meant by that according to the person who said it, but it really stuck with me and I wanted to talk about what it means to me.

I especially was thinking of this recently seeing someone online frustrated at being ill and unable to do much exercise for the time being- something I’m far too familiar with.

There are two parts of this that are works in progress for me.

The first part is accepting that I will never be as perfectly consistent at all times that I want to be. It’s clear that a reality of living with my chronic health conditions is that I’m always going to have times when I’m ill and can’t do everything I want, including working out. Sometimes I’m going to have to take a little time off from it. And that’s been hard for me to admit to myself. Because I always want to think I can do everything. But the other side of this is that I am also working on remembering that this doesn’t mean it’s not worth it.

So that’s the second part- always getting back on the horse. Not getting discouraged when things don’t go perfectly and I have to take some time off, but instead just getting right back to it as soon as possible.

So in a nutshell, that’s what consistency means to me these days. It doesn’t mean that I will always be perfect with my consistency. I don’t always hit all my planned workouts. Things go off plan. But consistency, to me, right now, means always getting back to it. Which I have not been good about in the past. In the past I let my health constantly knocking me back a step become a reason to not even bother. I was sick of working out, getting too sick to, getting back at it, and repeat. It didn’t feel worth it.

Now- now I remind myself that it’s still worth it. That I still make improvements even if more slowly. If I can take 2 steps forward and then I get pushed back one, I’m still further ahead for it.

So I am consistently getting back up on the horse and getting back on track.

And I hope other folks in similar situations can learn to not get discouraged by it as well. Because I think often we are given this message that consistency is important and it’s interpreted to mean that it only matter, it only counts, if you are always perfectly consistent. You always make your planned workouts on time, every single week. We think consistency means that things never get in the way. And then we take that and think if we can’t achieve that type of consistency, there is no point in bothering.

Which isn’t true. Even if things don’t always go as planned, there is still value in moving forward and getting back on track as many times as you need to.

Leave a Reply

