Flaws in Photos (NSFW)

Posted: December 17, 2014 in Body Image
Tags: , , , ,

This post is about body love and work toward improving how I view my body- which hopefully resonates with some other folks too and maybe encourages others. Just thought I should start by explaining that part, since that isn’t exclusively what I write about here 🙂

I started thinking about photos and “flaws” and how I feel about photos showing flaws for me. One that is big for me is stretch marks. I have (now faded) stretch marks almost all over my whole body- well not really, but thighs, hips, ass, abdomen, boobs, and my upper arms. So I can keep them all covered, as long as I keep all those areas fully covered- no shorts, tank tops, or anything too low cut, and certainly not crop tops. But I don’t often dress that way- especially at home alone, including when working out.

So this photo is actually the on that got me thinking about this awhile ago (and then was reminded about it again today). This is a picture I took wearing my lifting belt while working out and posted to instagram (the weird mirror image part is something I do sometimes to create a square image for instagram instead of just having a lot of blank space on the sides). I was commenting on how I was still getting used to the belt. I’ve started getting used to it but it still feels weird.

Anyways, this photo got me thinking about it because after I posted I started feeling a little self conscious about my stretch marks in the photo. Can you see them? I can, lol. Probably mainly because I know they are there. But in actuality anyone else looking at this probably would not notice at all.

I tend to notice these things in photos more than other people. I also have a slight issue that photos allow me to obsess about them in ways I don’t in person because I’m never looking at a static version long enough to except in photos.

This is the NSFW photo, sorry

This is the NSFW photo, sorry

So this is a photo from February or March. It was actually the middle of the night if I remember correctly (thus the lack of clothing) I got out of bed to use the bathroom and while going back to bed I saw my reflection and liked what I saw, so I decided to take a photo as well. Then after I took the photo- I hated what it captured. I liked what I saw in the mirror, but not what I saw in the photo, which happens a lot for me. Eventually I shared the photo and those thoughts with some others. I think one of the ways I describe myself was that I thought I looked “lumpy” and also was bothered by the stretch marks again visible in the photo. But when I mentioned these things to other people, people started responding that they couldn’t see any of those things. That was kind of a point when I started realizing that I am way more critical of photos of myself that most people probably would be. And I’ve tried to make a more conscious effort to not nit-pick my photos, but even more so to not let that stop me from sharing them even if I am still mentally picking them apart. Sort of a fake it till you make it mentality I guess? I hope that if I can at least let go of the flaws enough to not feel like I want the photo kept hidden away, then maybe eventually I stop even thinking about all the flaws in the photos at all.

I’m not sure that is working on the not seeing “flaws” in my photos. But I’m not hiding because of them so I still think that is still good. My instagram is full of selfies and for everyone there are so many things I could point out that I don’t like about how I look, but I let go of it all and post anyways.

On the other hand maybe it does help because even though if you look below my sports bra in this photo you can clearly see stretch marks, I like this photo and they don’t really bug me in it.

Comments
  1. keen peach says:

    Ha! Your are totally right. I see no stretch marks at all and you are insanely photogenic.
    I am in week 13 of a challenge I am doing on my blog that was supposed to be for health but I do take pregress photos every 2 weeks…… I have never been so obsessed with my body in my life! Ugh. 😦
    Nice post! How do you like the belt? I have never used one.

    • ebay313 says:

      Thank you. I like it, though I’m still adjusting to it for squats. The first few times I tried squating with it it actually felt harder but it took getting used to how it should fit and using it. I don’t use it on deadlifts because thus far I don’t feel I ever need it on them. I love it for ohp- I think it helps me keep better posture for them (you know the way a light touch somewhere can help you just by bringing your attention there? I think it helps mostly in that type way for me on ohps)

  2. Caronbot says:

    One of my followers had something funny to say about stretch makes the other day: “Stretch marks? You mean sick-ass lightning tattoos?!”

    In other news: belt is a good idea for deadlifts. If you tighten it nice and snug it makes slouch more apparent. At least for me when I used one.

  3. Caronbot says:

    Marks. Stretch marks. Sorry I’ve been drinking. Every day. For the last 3 days.

Leave a Reply

