Chronic Illness: What It’s Like

Posted: January 3, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

This started as a facebook status but  I decided I wanted to post this somewhere more public.

I get very, very, frustrated with how to explain what living with chronic illness is like to people who don’t have the same issues. Because I don’t know that it’s possible to really understand what it’s like if you never have to live it.

Sometimes I really wish that I had the ability to force other people to experience what I do- not just for a short period but for an extended period of time with no end in sight. Which sounds mean and probably is, but it’s just frustrating when people don’t understand what it’s like to live with chronic health issues.

Don’t think just because I’m going through my day I’m not in severe pain that would probably knock you on your ass. I work through it not because it’s nothing, but because I have to or else my whole life would be spent in bed doing nothing. How do you explain what it’s like when pain, nausea, dizziness, and fatigue are always there and not going away?

Yes, some days are worse that others and I can’t do anything but stay in bed and cry at how miserable I’m feeling. But a normal day that I work through for me would kick most people on their ass.

I’m fairly certain I’ve said it before but I’ll say it again, the hardest part of this is that it isn’t going away. It’s not something I can spend a few days in bed resting and get over. It’s not something that happens on a rare occasion. It’s everyday.

Edit: please excuse the any errors I’ve still missed in this. Had a typo in the title originally that now remains in the url for the post. oops. I’m bad with typos and spelling errors even on a good day, but they get even worse when I’m in a lot of pain, as I was when writing this  post.

Leave a Reply

