More On Body Image: Retraining Your Mind

Posted: January 10, 2015 in Body Image
Tags: , , , , , ,

I’ve seen a few discussions lately on how things like cultivating a positive body image tend to require really retraining how you think.

And I was thinking of that today. I’ve been feeling rather negative about my appearance lately. And yet have had a number of positive comments on my appearance. Including a few people who have commented lately that they think I have a nice figure. And in my mind all I’m thinking is “how could you actually think that,  can’t you see how huge I am?” (Because yes, this is always a work in progress and sometimes I’m more happy and comfortable with my body than others.)

I’ve mentioned before I’m sure though how I have a number of full length mirrors in my house. And caught my reflection in one today and the first thing that came to mind was not all the things I dislike but actually that I do like my overall shape. I like my curves. I like the changes I see on my body from weight lifting. Recently the changes that are most noticeable to me are that hamstrings seem huge to me. Also I seem to have a lot more muscle in my lower back, and I have more shape in that area. I have more of a curve at the top of my ass than ever before in my life. (Now I just need to do more stuff that targets my upper back and get some more muscle up there!)

But it really got me thinking about how positive body image is an ongoing process with ups and downs, and how it is also work. How it really is an issue of retraining your mind to focus on positives over negatives. And it won’t happen overnight.

Which I hope is helpful if anyone reads this who is just starting on the path to loving their body, and feeling discouraged that they aren’t there yet. It does get better and easier with time, but it takes time, and it’s not linear, and I think all of us- even people who blog a lot about body love, are works in progress who have our own struggles and bad days, and that’s ok.

Comments
  1. […] More On Body Image: Retraining Your Mind (NSFW Image In Post) […]

Leave a Reply

