Body Love

Posted: March 19, 2015 in Body Image
Tags: , ,

One thing I’ve been thinking about lately is the idea that loving one body somehow means putting down others, and how ridiculous that is.

Me loving my body, doesn’t mean I’m putting it above anyone else’s. And I don’t think other people loving their bodies mean that they are putting theirs above mine either.

I was thinking about this a lot in terms of fitness and celebrating progress in terms of bodies. Even though I’m not body building, or in other ways really aiming to change my body (except trying to get a shapelier booty, no lie), I still notice changes to my body and quite enjoy them. That doesn’t mean they are right or others are wrong. Someone else “leaning out” from their program doesn’t mean that is the only right way for a body to respond to fitness, but it doesn’t mean they can’t appreciate it. I’ve mentioned before that I feel like I build muscle faster than what I’m told is supposed to be possible for women, and I like it! That doesn’t mean that is the right response to fitness though.

I was also thinking with this how differently bodies respond, and thinking how at 5ft even with less space between my joints, I don’t have that “long lean” muscle look. And I’m cool with that. But me liking my bulky looking thighs doesn’t mean someone else can’t like their long, lean looking legs. It’s not an either-or thing.

There is no one right way.

We are so used to the idea of there being one right kind of body, that it seems often people can’t get out of that thinking, so any body love is interpreted as holding up that kind of body as the one right kind of body. rather than just an appreciation for one body/body type that can exist right alongside appreciation of other bodies as well.

Comments
  1. alinaxx98 says:

    Reblogged this on SorePoint Safe Sex Campain and commented:
    This is one blog I can actually agree with follow this account guys ^

Leave a Reply

