Zombies 5k Week 3 Run 1

Posted: June 14, 2015 in Running Blogging
Tags: , , , ,

I really need to make a running playlist. I have few playlists on my phone right now. I didn’t feel like listening to all rent music during the run, and the other playlist is fairly short so I would end up listening to the same handful of songs over and over. So I decided to go with just all the music on my phone. Which isn’t really great without control over skipping songs because I’m a bit of a digital music hoarder- I hate deleting music, so I have all this music on my phone that I downloaded back in middle school and high school that I don’t listen to but it’s still there.

Which meant that my run started with two Eminem tracks. The first was Till I Collapse, which I actually downloaded only a year ago. The chorus is great workout music “Till the roof comes off, till the lights go out/Till my legs give out, can’t shut my mouth”… mainly I focus on the till my legs give out part, lol. Totally not what it’s actually about but that little part right there makes me feel like “hell yeah, I’m going to keep running till my legs give out!!” The rest of the song I don’t really like. I don’t remember what the other song was even. A

After Eminem was Corporate Avenger. I like Corporate Avenger still, but songs about genocide are still not really great running music to me.

None of that was as bad though until what is in my phone as 12 Days of Christmas Punk by the Sex Pistols. I don’t think I’ve ever listened to this song. And it was the most painful thing to listen to while running.

And finished the run with Spice Girls (there were other songs mixed in throughout as well of course, but they just weren’t memorable.)

As for the run itself, after the 5 minute warmup walk was a 5 minute free form run. I slowly jogged for the full 5 minutes. Though after the first minute my legs started to really hurt but I pushed through because 5 minutes is short enough to push through pain. Did not realize that there is no walking interval (break) between the end of the free form run and the first run interval though, which meant I slowed to a walk just long enough for Dr. Myers to tell me I did well on the free form run and now it’s time to do my first 1 minute run. That first run interval was the hardest! So then I did the 1 minute run, 1 minute walk intervals. There were supposed to be knee lifts in there but I don’t want to do knee lifts on the street, so instead I either walked or stretched. The stretching helped the pain in my calves from running. I remembered that week 3 started with a free form run, then had 1 minute run, 1 minute walk intervals, then finished with a free form run. I however blocked out that it ended with an 8 minute freeform run, 2 minutes stretching, and then another 8 minute free form run. Was not up for that much running. I started the first 8 minute free form run at a slow job then slowed for a walk. Decided I would walk the rest of the first 3 minutes, run 3 minutes and then walk the last 2, which is the same thing I did for the second 8 minute free form run.

Came home, stretched and did some foam rolling. I’ve already been working on stretching more again, after I started slacking off on my stretching. Next run I need to remember to do a yoga warmup before I head out and see if stretching first helps.

Leave a Reply

