Chronic Migraine Awareness

Posted: June 30, 2015 in Disability
Tags: , , , , ,

So I just discovered reading another blog that June is apparently is Migraine and Headache Awareness Month, and June 29th is apparently specifically set aside for raising awareness of Chronic Migraines. I’m several hours late but still as a chronic migraine sufferer I felt like I should post something myself. Chronic Migraines are defined as having migraines 15 or more days per month. Without medications my migraines are well over 15 days per month, even on preventative I still typically am at about 12-15 days per month.

Headache is also only one of many symptoms of migraines. Others common symptoms include nausea/vomiting, dizziness/vertigo, and fatigue. These symptoms can also change over time as I’ve learned. I’ve had chronic migraines since I was 10, and it was only within the last several years though that I frequently experienced nausea and vomiting with my migraines.

The above infographic that I found points out that depression and anxiety are 2 conditions that people are at an increased risk for with Migraines. Meniere’s Disease is another, which I’ve been diagnosed with as well. As I’ve been told by doctors, they don’t know what the connection between the two is, but there appears to be one as the majority of meniere’s patients have migraines (the alternate is not true though, as most migraine sufferers do not have meniere’s).

As for triggers, besides weather and stress (as noted in the infographic) other common triggers include bright lights, diet (not limited to caffeine), not getting enough sleep, hormonal changes, and exercise. Some of these are fairly well known for being bad when one has a migraine, but many people don’t realize that not only do things like bright lights (florescents especially) and exercise often make migraines worse when you have them, but also can trigger migraines.

Comments

Leave a Reply

