Sprints

Posted: July 6, 2015 in Running Blogging
Tags: , , , , , ,

So today was sprints. Same layout as I’ve been using: 5 minute warm up walk, *30 second springt, 2 minute walk* repeat 6 times, 5 minute cool down walk (or longer depending how long it takes me to get back to my house). I might switch over to distance based sprints though. I am looking forward to an interval function on zombies run- though I can’t get the main app to download on my phone at the moment :-\ Keeps telling me I don’t have enough space on the phone. No idea why I should not have space though.

Spent awhile fooling around with that on my phone so actually ended up with another daylight run, sort of. By the time I got out it was just starting to get light out.

Sprints weren’t particularly interesting in any way. Though I’ve noticed my vibrams are starting to fall apart. Going to need to new ones soon. Too many things I need to buy, and yet I have no money to buy any of those things. Being broke sucks.

Not sure it might be related to that but I also have a bunch of blisters from sprints today 😦

This past week has been a bit cardio heavy for me, lol. Since it was a deload week I added some box jumps to my first lifting workout, then an evil 8 complex at the end of my second (combined deloads into 2 instead of 4 workout), in addition obviously to my last run and these sprints. All of these being interval work (last run less so than the rest though). I like doing these with my deloads, since I don’t want to do much in terms of heavy lifting since the point of a deload is a rest from that, but I still want to feel like I got in a decent workout. A complex or some form of HIIT is a nice way to feel like I got a workout that doesn’t involve heavy lifting.

Next up, “week 4” of zombies 5K. Runs get longer and a bit more complicated.

Week 4 runs will start with 5 minutes of walking, then 5 minutes running, then *10 knee lifts (I’ll probably skip those again), 1 minute slow walking, 1 minute fast walking* repeat 5 times, then *1 minute walking, 30 seconds running* repeat 5 times, and then a 15 minute free form run.

Which all in all is less running and more walking than week 3 was.  Longer free form run of course.

Comments
  1. I love hearing about your running. Each time I think ‘one day that will be me. One day I’ll be well enough to run’. It’s inspiring. Thank you so much for sharing.

Leave a Reply

