Random training post because I feel the need to vent a bit about this.

I ended up taking a full week… actually more- 8 days, off from all workouts. Not planned. Seem to have picked up some virus. Nothing serious, but that’s the thing about chronic illness, catching a little virus that should normally be no big deal will completely knock me on my ass.

So the past week has been a “just getting out of bed takes all my energy” week.

As much as I try not to let it, I do get frustrated when this happens.

Starting to feel better, but not back to my normal even yet.

Still, well enough to workout today. Squats were the next up on my schedule, which was not a good fit for how I was feeling.

I’ve been doing body weights squats in my warmup before I do any with any weight at all. I do some jumping jacks to get blood flowing, then some body weight squats, more jumping jacks, then some body weight lunges, more jumping jacks, then some stretching and foam rolling before I get over to do my warm up sets with the bar.

Before I even started my first warm up set with the bar I could feel my legs shaking a bit- not a good sign. It should take far more body weight squats and lunges than that before my muscles start feeling any fatigue. But I pushed on with the workout at planned. Warm ups went well, first working set of 145×3 went well enough. Then the second working set was meant to be 170×3 but I managed only 1 rep, failing the second. I could have rested and tried again, but I knew if I tried 170 again I wouldn’t be able to lift it again. I was supposed to do 190×3 after 170 too but obviously that was not going to happen.

Instead I dropped back to a very low weight for some zercher squats to finish up with.

On one hand- I absolutely feel better to have done anything after the past week. On the other hand I’m frustrated that it was a squat workout since I feel like I’ve been making no progress at all on squats for a very long time. Which isn’t exactly true. I started really struggling with them and was scaling back my weight more and more for awhile, and just now have been able to bring it back to around where it was. I’ve been looking very forward to finally inching back forward with squats as with my other lifts (progress is slow in general for me, but inching forward is still forward), so it feels extra frustrating to me that it was squats I couldn’t get up to the weight I was supposed to.

But such is life. Hopefully my next squat workout I won’t be as fatigued and will be able to get the planned amounts of weight.

Leave a Reply

