Zombies 5K “Week” 5, Run 1

Posted: August 14, 2015 in Running Blogging
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

vibrams2Been awhile since I’ve been running, but back at it today.

Since my last time running I’ve been doing some reading about Pose Running as well as more about Chi Running. I did a Tai Chi group fitness thing at the fitness center in undergrad way back when in undergrad and looking into Chi Running more I’ve been thinking it might help to start doing more Tai Chi again. I’ve been doing a little bit of what I could remember recently, though I don’t remember too much of the little bit I learned.

Maybe helped a little bit because as I started out on my warm up walk, after 10 minutes of Yoga, and felt more than before the feeling of being pulled forward some. So that was good. Then after the 5 minute warm up walk, I moved into 5 minutes of running. But I had trouble controlling my speed with the pulling forward feeling, and couldn’t maintain the speed it had me at, so I ended up not being able to keep that feeling either.

I also still suck at telling how long I’ve been running. 2 minutes into the run Dr. Myers says “good job…” and I’m like ‘cool, 5 minutes done…’ until she continues with saying I have done 2 out of the 5 minutes. Not until after that that I realized how stupid I am- I’ve been running the same route recently and the 5 minute warm up walk then 5 minutes running takes me past the cemetery  and I still had a ways to go before I was past it so due, it hadn’t been that long.

Super slow jogging from the start.

After that was 30 seconds walking, 1 minute running, and 6 heel lifts repeated 8 times. First interval set where the walking didn’t feel long enough for me to really feel fully ‘recovered’ from the running. My last 3 sets of running intervals were the most pathetic “jogging” attempts.

Then it was a 10 minute free form run. Though the first 15-30 seconds of the run was spent just standing/dancing because it started when I was waiting for traffic to clear to cross the street. Other than that I managed to run the 10 minutes, albeit very, very slowly. I was about 8 minutes in when my calves and side were cramping up and my feet hurting, but I kept going. Also came close to injuring myself when I didn’t notice a whole on the ground and rolled my ankle- somehow managed to not injure it though.

Bad timing for when it stopped though, because I ended right in front of Tim Horton’s/Cold Stone, which smelled so good. Walked a little bit away before I started stretching. Still really want some Cold Stone, mmm.

After that was another 10 minute free form run, which was even slower, but still managed it barely. The hardest part through the last 10 minutes was trying to ignore the blisters forming on my feet :-\ I definitely need to get new vibrams. I also definitely am currently too broke for new vibrams though. So, for now, I’ll just need to deal with the blisters from them.

Cool down walk and stretching when I got home.

Actually in the end it was a relatively uneventful run.

Comments
  1. Cass says:

    Well done for getting the running shoes back on! I recently had a problem with blisters ( a blister ON a blister) and I didn’t want to interrupt my training program. Try a slim panty liner cut in half instead of a sticky plaster. You can stick it into your sock so it won’t move and it should be slim enough to fit in your shoe. It worked brilliantly for me and a fellow runner blogger too! Hope it goes away soon!

Leave a Reply

