Finally Another Running Post! With Rats! And Maybe Bats!

Posted: August 24, 2015 in Running Blogging
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Finally wearing one of my Fat Girls’ Guide to Running shirts for a run. Also Blake thinks stretching time is play time. And he tried attacking my yoga mat and some paper towels in addition to me while I was stretching!

So this was a Week 5, Workout 2 Run with the Zombies 5K app. Having been over a week since my Week 5, Workout 1 Run. I was pretty much totally inactive this past week 😦

A factor of fatigue, moreso depression, and a little side of other things to focus on- the last one being a good thing! I got a call Tuesday for a job interview Thursday, which meant running out Wednesday night with my mom who bought me some new interview clothes. Cross your fingers for me (pray, send good vibes, whatever) that something works out job wise soon! I need the income!

So despite the fact that it’s been a week since I did any running, I only got a few hours of sleep today and was exhausted, ate dinner at a birthday party for my uncle where my “dinner” was potato chips and a tiny bit of fruit* so not the most nutritious meal, and my even before I started out for a run my feet were very sore- actually my Plantar fasciitis has been particularly bad pretty much all week, despite all this I had pretty high aspirations for this run.

Side note about my dinner: *somehow I don’t like pretty much any of the main foods my family has for these types of things. You would think growing up with these foods I would, but no. Almost every family get together my whole life has involved things like potato salad, macaroni salad, and some weird jello dishes- though none of that last today- and I have never liked any of them.

I feel like a lot of the time I am limited more by my mind and thinking than I am by my physical abilities. For running and lifting, I know often the biggest hurdle for a lifting PR is getting over the “omg, that is so heavy, I can’t do that!” thoughts. So I had it in my head that sticking to the run, walk intervals is probably holding me back to less than I am capable of so why not just go out with a plan to run the whole time (minus warm up and cool down), and see how long I can do it if I’m not thinking ahead to “when is my next walking interval?”

But I decided to still play the Week 5 Run 2 program and I would try to just keep running through instead of slowing down after the 5 minute warm up walk.

Yeah, so that definitely didn’t happen! I started my 5 minute run and was just feeling miserable. Barely moving and stopped a few times because I kept getting tangled in my headphone cords, and then my ankles are itching a ton for some reason. I barely make it through the 5 minute run so I give up on my idea that I’m running the whole time. Do my intervals, which started at with the first few running minutes so slowly dragging myself, but I felt like I could move better by the latter ones. This seems to be a trend for me recently, is instead of getting progressively worse as I get more tired and sore as I would expect I actually get a big better as I adjust back into it I guess.

Oh, I almost forgot about the rats! So according to my one neighbor and the local facebook group I’m in, we have a huge rat problem here. Prior to tonight though I had seen one dead rat a few houses down on a previous run once and that’s it. And I wonder how much people exaggerate the problem, especially after facebook posts with dead animals that are likely gophers or other larger rodents who are posted as evidence of how bad the rats are because look how huge they get!

But today I saw another dead rat on the sidewalk, right about the same place as I had previously. Poor rat 😦

Then later one during my walk/run intervals I saw what looked like two rats running between trash bins.

Anyways, back to the running. Was really not feeling good about how the run was going through when it came time for the first 10 minute run. One thing I decided to do this time was not look at the time on my phone and try to pay as little attention to the time as possible. Though in this case I found the zombies storyline demotivating. I’m trying to get into it and Dr. Myers mentions how I should be able to see my destination ahead up that hill. Trying to visualize that I was just like “fuck that, I can’t make it!” then I decided to stop thinking about the zombies run story and realized that I think the main issue is I don’t run on a very hilly route, so when I’m not feeling good about my running as is, imagining that I’m actually heading up hill for the 10 minutes was not helping.

Instead though, last run I paid more attention to landmarks and were I ended up at each point. So I focused on the approximate distance, since it was the same route, rather than thinking about the storyline or the time goals.

And it was a lot easier focusing on distance! Because time creeps by so slow when I’m running, 1 minute feels like an hour! But distance feels more concrete. I don’t feel like I’ve gone several blocks when I am only halfway down one. So focusing on the restaurant I was probably going to hit the 10 minutes at instead made it a bit easier.

Then was stretching and back to running. I actually felt like I got into a groove with it in the last 10 minute run. Like I was incredibly slow, but I just felt like I was in a groove and not having to think about and force each step. Again, distance felt more concrete to me than time. When Dr. Myers interrupts to say I’m 5 minutes I started thinking “are you friggin kidding me!? How could that have only been 5 minutes!?” Even though I was blocks from where I was expecting to end the 10 minutes and knowing that hadn’t been thinking prior to the time update that I was closer than a few blocks from finishing the 10 minutes. Though I got distracted and stopped a few times toward the end of the second run because I saw what I think were bats in the sky and I stopped to see if I could tell if they were bats or not. I mean- it was night and dark out, birds don’t fly at night right? But then, they way they were flying looked more like birds to me. Though I’m no expert and I can’t recall every having clearly seen bats fly in person before, so what the heck do I know!

They were flying around one of the big billboards here with lights so I could see them- I’ve read bats will tend to be around bright lights because the light attracts bugs, bats eat bugs. Whatever they were the undersides of their wings looked almost reflective from my angle, was cool.

I like bats personally, they are cute and they eat bugs, and I hate bugs. The more bats the better imo.

So then walked back home. My feet hurt so bad by the time I got in the house!

Stretched, made some fries, and then drew this picture for this post:

11885758_10107172692533484_2043408501077744463_o

Inspired by the rats I saw and the possible bats here is a rat who is supposed to be jogging, with bats flying in the background. I’m not good at cartoony drawings, nor am I great with rat physiology. Still I like it and think it’s cute! 🙂

She can be my own personally running mascot! And with those hairy legs she should be right at home for a feminist blog, right?

Now I’m going to celebrate by watching the premiere of Fear the Walking Dead! Which I only ever started liking zombie stuff because of the zombies, Run! app. I always found zombies boring and gross before. Still not a huge zombie fan, but Zombies, Run! definitely makes it more interesting than other zombie stories imo.

Leave a Reply

