Super Short Run

Posted: September 2, 2015 in Running Blogging
Tags: , , ,

selfie while stretching outside after my run. looking less sweaty in the photo than I was.

So this is the start of my blogging with The Fat Girls’ Guide to Running. The first week is a “reboot week” meant to reestablish a habit.

Habit is the part I have the biggest trouble with. I lose track of time and somehow it’s been a week or longer since my last run, making progress super slow.

So the first run proposed for this was to head out and travel for 10 minutes, turn around and go back the way you came, with whatever mix of walking or jogging.

Now I normally warm up and cool down with 5 minutes of walking each and I don’t feel comfortable not doing that, so I had 2 options- not consider my warm up/cool down traveling time, so I do 5 minute warm up walk, 20 minutes running, and a 5 minute cool down walk, or count it and do a 5 minute warm up walk, 10 minutes of running, then 5 minute cool down walk.

And another selfie after I got inside showing off my Fat Girls Guide to Running Shirt, which seemed appropriate for the day when literally half my time was spent walking.

I decided on the latter. I averaged about 19 min/mile total, at around 16 min/mile during the run and much slower during the walk (so about 22 min/mile during the walk). And covered a little over 1 mile in the process.

It was fun to go out and do a just really short, quick run. Also even though it was a short time it felt good to just run the whole distance between warm up and cool down. Was also nice to know it was  short distance when I went outside and felt drenched in sweat before I even started because of how incredibly hot and humid out it was! I am so not a fan of this weather.

Listened to my book of time audiobook during which is much more interesting than music I think.

Pretty uneventful.

Thinking of doing more walks just to get in the habit of going out for something more regularly.

I am now too tired to keep my eyes open while writing this, so goodnight y’all!

TFTR-Official-Blogger-Badge-1

Leave a Reply

