Reboot Run 3

Posted: September 6, 2015 in Running Blogging
Tags: , , , ,
9.6Run

Selfie right at the beginning of my cool down walk, feeling really good.

From an outside perspective there is nothing particularly noteworthy about my run today, but I feel FUCKING PROUD!

It was Saturday (after midnight as I type this though), so last day to get in the last reboot. Though I was fucking exhausted!

I was putting off the run because of that. I did not feel at all capable of running, so I told myself… numerous times actually, that I would just go out and walk the 30 minutes. A walk is surely not to much to manage!

Still I got dressed for running in case I decided to run a little bit on my way out. Set up my runkeeper for 2 times of 10 minutes running with a 5 minute warm up and a 5 minute cool down. Third reboot run is 15 minutes out, turn around and head back. Thus, 5 minute warm up, 10 minute run, runkeeper notifies me when that is over and moving into the next 10 minutes so I know to turn around, and then 5 minute cool down walk… or however long to get back to my house.

So I head out telling myself if I walk the whole time, that is ok.

5 minute warm up walk felt ok, so when I got the notification for 10 minute running I thought, ok, I will run some. Maybe I’ll do some short intervals of running and walking through the 20 minutes of running.

I was really slow running… or at least, I felt slow. I felt like I was moving at a slower pace than usual pace for me- spoiler, but runkeeper says this was a lie- I was actually at a good pace for me! But despite feeling very slow, it also felt comfortable. I can’t explain it unfortunately, I was actually not putting much though into form at all, but I feel like somehow being as exhausted as I was I fell into a running pacing and form that had me using less energy to move forward.

So I told myself I would run at least 1 minute and then I could walk-maybe 1 minute running, 1 minute walking throughout. I didn’t look at the time on my phone though, and felt like I was probably a minute in and told myself I could keep going and to try going further. Around this time I focused more on distance. Following my current usual route a 5 minute warm up walk and 5 minutes of slow running takes me to the end of on the cemeteries near me.

So I will try to run 5 minutes, which means the end of the cemetery. It is, again, easier for me when I think about distance than time.

I also was listening to my Wheel of Time audiobook, which I find much better to run to than music. I get into an audiobook more than a lot of my music. A good portion of my run was a part of the book from Elaida’s perspective (I’m on book 7) which lead to me saying “fuck you” and giving my phone the middle finger, lol. I might look silly, but getting into a story makes it easier to get my mind off the running!

So I was coming up to the end of the cemetery which was my 5 minutes and switched over from distance to time. If I just ran 5 minutes it would be nothing to do just another 3 minutes, right? I can manage another 3 minutes. That gives me 8 minutes of running then I can do a few minutes of walking before I do some more running on the way back.

8 minutes into running I might as well just run the whole way out (10 minutes), I can walk a little after that but I will run the whole 10 minutes out.

10 minutes running done, time to turn around and head home. Might as well not stop now!

I use this technique a bit and from what I hear from other runners it is a common one- sort of tricking yourself into continuing to keep going by setting short goals and saying you can stop then, but then constantly pushing those goal posts further.

Of course, there is a weird aspect of this that when you know you are doing it, you know it’s not true. You know the goal is not actually just to do another minute, or get to that tree, or whatever.

And that was me on my way back. I still sort of was telling myself small goals, but I know within the first few seconds of turning around that at that point, my real goal was to run the whole 10 minutes back. Back to the edge of the cemetery was about 5 minutes. Getting to that point felt good. I felt like if I could get there, I could run the rest of the cemetery (plus about another block) to get in that full 10 minutes. I was slow, my feet hurt a bit, and my calves were starting to get sore, but I kept going. By the time I was at the end of those (second) 10 minutes (20 minutes running total) I felt good. \

Actually my thought when runkeeper told me it was time for my cool down was “no way! I could keep going like this all night!” For real. Me. I thought that!

But I also told myself that that was not the planned workout for tonight and I slowed to my walk. Took the selfie at the top of this post. Though I was slower back than out so the cool down walk was a bit over 5 minutes.

I’ve actually heard some other runners talk about how the first 10 minute or so are always a struggle for them, that it always feels unbearable- even from people who are running half and full marathons! But that after that they start to get into the zone of it and it’s easy to do the rest. And i guess that is sort of what I experience.

Not that I can guarantee I will continue to feel this way with runs.

Still, I feel really good about this one!

This is also part of why I want to do more walking, because I know getting out even if just for walking makes it easier to run.

Also I recently have been feeling a bit down with my running- last summer I was running longer distances than I am now. So I feel a bit down that with my inconsistent bits of running all this summer, I’m covering much shorter distances than I was. But then I remember that on the other hand, I’m also faster this summer! I don’t feel it, but my trackers say I am!

I actual set a pace PR during the first 10 minutes of running (for that length of time of course)- if by only 1 second/mile. I came in at 15:59 minutes/mile.  A very slow running speed but actually pretty good for me. (It was 16:40 minutes/mile for the 20 minutes combined btw.)While I was hitting that and faster speeds for brief periods last summer, my running was usually averaging only around 19-20 minutes/mile. For me that is the same pace as a fast walk . Back then I wasn’t moving any faster by running, just moving differently. I’m marginally faster than a walking pace now at least! So that helps me feel better. Even if my distance isn’t what it was, my speed is better.

TFTR-Official-Blogger-Badge-1

Leave a Reply

