Aging and Beauty

Posted: December 14, 2015 in Body Image
Tags: , , , , ,

I’ve been thinking recently about how we perceive aging and appearances.  Particularly for women.  It’s commonly said that man more attractive, more dignified looking,  as they get older, whereas for women youth is paramount.

Which is bullshit.  It really is.  Why is being young considered so desirable for women? 

I have times I look back at photos of myself in my later teen years and think I liked so much better,  and why didn’t I appreciate it at the time?  (Side note but when u do thin this,  I try to remind myself that I may feel that way about myself currently,  so I need to appreciate myself now. )
But other times,  I look in the mirror and think I like how I look now much better than when I was 18, despite all the reasons I “shouldn’t” according to whoever.  And I am still fairly young, and so subjected to little of the negativity women get about their appearance and worth as they age.  All I often hear messages about how is all downhill after 18 for women, and I think- why should I want to look 18 again?

Why should I want to be 18? What is it about being young we desire so much?  I have learned so much since then,  I have gotten wiser,  smarter,  and stronger.  I am less inclined to tolerate bullshit,  and I have a better understanding of what really matters in life.
I care less what people in general think of me,  I care less about being cool,  popular,  or fitting in.  And frankly,  I often look forward to getting even older and giving less a shit about these things as time goes on. 

Comments
  1. G says:

    You know, my 30s have been the best decade so far! I wouldn’t go back to 18 for anything. It was a terrible time of my life. And at 36, I think I look pretty good 🙂

    I get the feeling that a large part of why being young is so desirable is related to what you said: “I am less inclined to tolerate bullshit”. Young, inexperienced women are more easily controlled…

  2. ainsobriety says:

    At 44 I realize I only need to satisfy one person. Me.
    Liberating

Leave a Reply

