Physical Therapy

Posted: July 15, 2016 in About Me, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

I finally got around to getting in for the physical therapy my doctor told me to get!

It was an interesting experience. Number 1 thing I learned- I suck at relaxing. Every time the physical therapist told me “now relax your muscles and just let me move you” I would try but my muscles didn’t seem to understand “relax”.

More on topic the physical therapist said that I have a significant strength imbalance between my left and right side which she thinks is causing pain. Though I wonder whether that is a cause or an effect, since I’ve spent a long time now favoring my right side because of the pain on my left foot.

Also found out I need to work on my glute strength more.

For the time being though, she also says that the most important thing is that my foot needs to rest and I haven’t been resting it enough. I am not supposed to use any heavy weights for the time being, limit walking, no running.

She didn’t say I can’t do Krav Maga, but classes usually involve running during the warmup and I’m not supposed to do that :\ But I don’t want to have to completely avoid it for at least a month if not longer. So I don’t know how to handle that yet.

Comments
  1. ainsobriety says:

    I hear you. They tell me to relax and I swear I get more tense.
    Rest. Follow the treatment plan. You have many many months to workout ahead of you.
    Learning to do less and be ok with it is HARD!
    But it’s a good skill.

    Anne

Leave a Reply

