Dealing With Ego

Posted: August 6, 2016 in My workouts, training
Tags: , , ,

I’ve read a lot of things about letting go of your ego when lifting. I have always thought that isn’t much of an issue for me. I am not competing with anyone, I don’t care if my weights aren’t impressive sounding, and I have no trouble lowering weight to work on form…. right?

Physical therapy is teaching me that is not right though. The truth is, I definitely struggle with my ego with my physical therapy right now.

I can’t do much workout wise to begin with right now, and what I am doing for physical therapy is basically all body weight focusing on form.

What’s been really surprising to me though, is how sore I can get just from these body weight exercises.

It wasn’t that long ago that I was squatting 200lbs, now I’m doing body weight squats according to the PTs guidelines and feeling sore. And I get really sore doing the calf rises how she has me doing them, when I used to feel like I could do bw calf rises all day without feeling much anything from it.

It’s surprising how some minor tweaks in how I do an exercise is making a huge difference in how it feels. Which, of course right now these tweaks are all specifically designed to target my weak spots.

So, I have to work on letting go of my ego, and the mental view I have of myself as someone who lifts heavy weights, and accept that right now I have to rest and focus on the uber basics right now in order to rebalance my body/strength so that I can safely progress from there.

Leave a Reply

