PT Frustrations

Posted: August 13, 2016 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

I haven’t been posting here much recently but it’s hard to have much to say on a fitness blog when I’m not able to do much in the way of exercise!

I finished up my PT this week.

The good:

I seem to have recovered a fair bit of strength in my left leg (at the start I had apparently lost a lot of strength in my left leg due to favoring my pain free right leg).

Primarily from the rest my pain did go down from around a 7/10 to about a 5/10 (averages). I hardly ever limp anymore, but there is still pain when walking.

The bad:

I am still not cleared for any exercise that involves putting weight on my foot. No walking more than necessary, no running, no krav maga, no heavy lifting.

According to the physical therapist I saw last (I saw 3 different therapists over the time I went), it just takes awhile to heal and I have to wait for it to heal and can’t start doing any of these things until I’m fully pain free.

 

Which is really frustrating. I’m getting very frustrated at the lack of exercise.

I should be able to bike or swim though since that puts no pressure on my heal, so now I need to investigate a way to afford membership somewhere I can swim and/or a bicycle. Looking on amazon it might actually be cheaper to get an indoor exercise bike before buying a new bicycle.

Until then though… more rest!

Leave a Reply

