Fuck Flattering

Posted: September 22, 2016 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,
14352311_10108897461183284_1567678238584021343_o

A drawing of my Uncle Joe

My Uncle Joe passed away last Friday night and his funeral was this week. I will miss him a lot. I use art often to help me deal with emotions, especially when I am upset. So I started a sketch of my uncle based on a photo of him. The sketch is above, it’s based on a photo of him from my younger cousin’s birthday party when he had a lei around his head.

My aunt who took the photo commented about it and how he told her not to delete it even though it wasn’t the most flattering photo of him.

I chose this photo as one to draw from though because I felt like it really captured who he was. His smile, it showed him looking very happy enjoying himself, and it shows his humor and how he could be very silly and playful (especially with kids).

This got me thinking about “unflattering” photos. We all worry about those, right? I know I have complained many, many, many times about photos I think I look bad in.

Bad usually defined as looking further from social standards of beauty than I might at other times or other angles.

I don’t think I’ve ever complained about a “bad” photo where I meant that I looked bad in the sense that it made me look like a mean, thoughtless, uncaring person. No, bad means I look very large, I have a double chin, my eyes are too small looking, my cheeks too big and puffy, I have too much acne, or my face looks too red, and so on.

But at the end of the day, what does any of that matter?

At the end of our lives no one is going to look back on photos and judge how closely we aligned with social standards of beauty. No, they will look at them to remember the times we spent together, the way we made them feel, and remember all the amazing characteristics about who we are as people that they loved about us. And likely none of that will be related to what we looked like.

This doesn’t just apply after death either, for the most part, friends and family don’t care how “flattering” photos of us are, they want photos of us to capture the memories, emotions, and aspects of who we are that they love.

So I am writing this as a reminder to myself and hopefully inspiration to others as well to let go of caring about if photos are “flattering” or not. Doesn’t matter if that photo with family captured you from a bad angle that highlights some flaw you dislike in your appearance, that really isn’t important. Let the photo capture the moment, the memory, and your personality. But stop worrying about “flattering”

Comments
  1. GlenysO says:

    I love this. I was struggling with myself in photos up till this summer when I took Vivienne McMaster’s Be Your Own Beloved class. Doing much better now with seeing myself with compassion in photos. “Unflattering” pictures also change to me based on time – at first I won’t like a photo, and then months later I’ll be completely neutral about it. I’m learning to be more accepting as I get older. It’s quite a process.

Leave a Reply

