Staying Fit for the Resistance

Posted: January 27, 2017 in feminism, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Last night I finally got back to Krav Maga. I was cleared in November to slowly transition back into normal activity after many months of not being allowed to do anything that put weight on my feet. I had expected to get Krav Maga back in the mix of things much sooner, but, shockingly things have not gone how I expected since November!

Not only in terms of taking so long to get back to Krav Maga but in terms of fitness in general I have been relatively inactive. I was dealing with depression before the election and it has just been a lot worse since then.

In addition to the depression there is also a sense of these things not mattering anymore, things in my personal life. It feels sometimes like I need to be focused constantly and fighting back against the hatred and fear pushed by Trump and his administration, and fighting against the harm they are doing. (Only a week an already so much harm!)

I’m working on this mentality though. Working to remind myself that taking care of myself is an act of resistance itself and that to fight back I have to take care of myself.

Saturday I was able to go to the Women’s March in Washington DC. This especially brought it home for me how important it is to take care of myself. I couldn’t believe how sore and tired I was from the walking and standing. We were standing basically all day, and I walked around 9 miles I think. Still, I did not expect 9 miles to hurt so much and to be so hard. I know part of this is that I was already tired at the start of it from a long bus ride to DC with no sleep that was not very comfortable. But I’m sure another part of it was that I hadn’t been very active for a few weeks before the march and was not doing a great job at taking care of myself.

So I’m working on changing that. I’m working on getting myself back into better shape, so I have the strength and endurance for this fight.

grwulub

Photo of Carrie Fisher as Princess Leia Organa that says “A Woman’s Place is in the Resistance”

 

 

 

 

Comments
  1. G says:

    Yay! I was there too, maybe we saw each other in the massive sea of people 🙂 It was a really long day, wasn’t it? But lots of good energy.

    You’re thinking something that I’ve been thinking, too: have to get strong and fit and ready for this fight. But the protest was tremendously unfriendly to folks with physical disabilities. The fight needs to be accessible, and it needs to include the voices of the people who maybe can’t go out and march but have just as much (or more!) at stake, especially with the ACA repeal.

    It’s late and I’m probably not being very clear but there are lots of ways to fight. Good luck getting back into your fitness routine!

    • ebay313 says:

      Yes, I agree, we need more disability friendly actions, and also messages- reminders that it’s ok if folks can’t make it to rallies or marches due to disabilities. I know I’m beating myself up a little mentally because I missed two rallies for immigrants, refugees, and muslims today that I wanted to go to but I was not feeling well today.
      There are still lots of things those of us who can’t rally or march can do!

  2. […] originally commented about it over on this blog post, but I’ve been thinking about how we can make protest better accessible to folks with […]

Leave a Reply

