Dealing with Disability in Group Fitness

Posted: April 4, 2017 in Disability, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

So this is a post I would love some feedback on, particularly from others with invisible disabilities.

My last several Krav Maga classes have not gone very well for me, and it has me wondering if I should find a way to speak with instructors about my health issues. In particular because Krav Maga classes have this borderline bootcamp feel. Though so far, when I’ve needed to slow down or even rest I haven’t gotten shit from instructors about it, so that’s good and maybe I’m making something about nothing.

The class before my last one, I had a migraine and was nauseous. I took meds before class and was feeling better, up until I started the class and it came back. So I had to take a lot of rest during the class and half ass a lot because I spent the whole class on the verge of throwing up.

I’ve also been having issues with my last several classes with my asthma due to missing my inhaler/inhaler not working. And part of the problem with my asthma is the symptoms don’t seem bad during activity. I can feel when I start having trouble breathing and need to cut back, but it looks no different than just being a bit out of breathe from working out. I might cough a little bit during an activity, but it’s actually after when it gets bad. If I push through feeling short of breath during activity, triggering an asthma attack, the coughing will progressively get worse for hours after the activity. And if it’s bad, the coughing and trouble breathing will last days. So it’s not noticeable to anyone else at the time, but is a big issue for me.

So I feel like maybe I should take time to explain somehow that due to my invisible illnesses/disabilities, I sometimes have to go slower, or take rests. I haven’t done this before now because… well I hate having to single myself out.

Has anyone else had experience with this?

Comments
  1. Casey says:

    I usually end up outing myself for safety with my various disabilities, especially since most of mine are invisible (and two of them congenital, so I’m used to pushing too far or trying to do things that just aren’t safe). While it feels crappy at first, I’ve found that it leads to a more sustainable activity & a better relationship with the instructors/trainers (they want to push you appropriately usually, not make you need/want to quit). I have to admit that some of this outing of my disabilities is complicated by my fatness (“I swear I’m not a lazy fat person…I have disabilities!!”), so it can feel like a mess

Leave a Reply

